Endometrial Cancer: What you should know?

Endometrial cancer is a cancerous cell that grows in the inner lining of the uterus. The uterus is part of body organs where a fetus grows and develops when a woman becomes pregnant.

Types of endometrial cancer

Endometrial cancer or also known as endometrial carcinoma that grows in the cells of the inner lining of the uterus that is generally known as the endometrium. Endometrial cancer/carcinomas can be further studied or observed in different types based on how they look while tested. Below mentioned are the few types of endometrial cancers. 

  • Adenocarcinoma.
  • Uterine carcinosarcoma or CS
  • Squamous cell carcinoma.
  • Small cell carcinoma
  • Transitional carcinoma
  • Serous carcinoma

Tests for Endometrial Cancer:

Depending on the patient’s health conditions and symptoms, doctor consulting you may say to undergo any of them or all or mix of the below-mentioned test to the patients.

  • Ultrasound: Pelvic Ultrasound, Transvaginal Ultrasound (TVUS)
  • Saline Infusion Sonogram Or Hysterosonogram
  • Endometrial Tissue Sampling
  • Endometrial Biopsy

Symptoms for Endometrial Cancer:

  • Pain in the pelvic area